Recent Advancements in Applied Instrumental Variable Methods

Instrumental variables (IV) is one of most important and widespread research designs in economics and statistics, as it can identify causal effects in the presence of unobserved confounding. Over the past 30 years the science of IV has advanced considerably, in part through the contributions of Nobel Laureates Joshua Angrist, Guido Imbens, and James Heckman. Recent years have brought significant advances in how IV is applied, in shift-share designs, with judge or examiner instruments, and in settings with rich or complex controls.

In this webinar, selected econometricians will present their recent work on applied IV methods.

When & Where:

  • Wednesday, June 29th, 8:00 PT / 11:00 EST / 17:00 CET
  • Online, via Zoom. The registration form is available here.

Speakers:

  • Kirill Borusyak, University College London, United Kingdom: on shift-share IV and other composite instruments
  • Paul Goldsmith-Pinkham, Yale University, USA: on judge/examiner instruments
  • Stephen C. Coussens, Columbia University, USA: on efficient estimation from compliance weighting
  • Alexander Torgovitsky, University of Chicago, USA: on when two-stage least squares estimates local average treatment effects

Discussant:

The webinar is part of YoungStatS project of the Young Statisticians Europe initiative (FENStatS) supported by the Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS).